Head of School Search

The Seattle Jewish Community School Board of Trustees has partnered with Carney Sandoe & Associates to launch a search for the next Head of School to join the community for the 2021-2022 school year. We will keep the community informed on updates in the search process on this page.

The full position description can be found here


April 17 Message to Community

Dear SJCS Community,

We hope everyone is staying well as we continue to adapt and work together to keep our community safe and “flatten the curve.” Our values of Connection to Others and Inclusive Community, while physically challenging at this time, continue to guide us as we all work to support our individual and collective families.

Although our current focus is to provide high-quality distance learning, we must also plan for the future of our school. Our amazing Head of School, Ron Waldman, is set to retire at the end of the 2020-2021 school year. This advance notice of leadership transition provides ample time for us to find the best-suited successor and implement an orderly transition for the new Head to kick off the 2021-2022 school year.

To assist in this important task, the Board has secured Skip Kotkins, Senior Search Consultant from the firm of Carney, Sandoe & Associates (CS&A). Headquartered in Boston, CS&A is a preeminent firm that specializes in Search for fine independent schools. Known nationally for the quality and quantity of its head of school searches, CS&A is also well known and well regarded locally. Skip Kotkins is a Seattle native who has helped train and advise our board in the past. A couple of recent Jewish School searches led by Skip include: Kehillah Jewish High School in Palo Alto, Akiva School in Montreal, Mandel Jewish Day School in Cleveland and Jewish Community Day School of New Orleans.

We look forward to being in touch with you, our community, to ensure that you have a voice in the Head of School search process. The Head of School search is overseen by a Search Committee whose job will be to evaluate candidates against criteria you help the Search Committee develop. More details will be coming soon, but we wanted to share this exciting news in advance of next week’s return to learning.

Wishing you all a Shabbat Shalom,

All the Best,



Ronnie Stern
President, Board of Trustees
Seattle Jewish Community School